Gummy Song Skull: The Soft Bulletin Live La Fantastique De Institution 2011

Release Date: June 14, 2011

Label: Warner Bros. Records

The Flaming Lips are Wayne Coyne, Michael Ivins, Steven Drozd, Kliph Scurlock, and Derek Brown, and have included Ronald Jones, Jonathan Donahue, Nathan Roberts, and Richard English

Produced by The Flaming Lips and Dave Fridmann
Design by George Salisbury

Recorded at Tarbox Road Studios in Cassadaga, New York April 2011

All songs written by The Flaming Lips and published by Lovely Sorts Of Death (BMI)

Release #5 in the "Flaming Lips 2011" series. Digital files for this release come from a USB flash drive embedded within an edible gummy skull. This release was only available through the purchase of a special two-night ticket to the Lips' June 14 Soft Bulletin and June 15 Dark Side Of The Moon sets at the Hollywood Forever Cemetery. The Soft Bulletin was recorded as a live in the studio version at Tarbox Road Studios, while the two "live" music videos were mimed and recorded at the State University of New York in front of a student audience.

The career-spanning Everyone You Know Someday Will Die compilation was curated by Kliph and included songs relating to the themes of the two cemetery shows for this release.


Questions, Comments, Contributions
Contact Us

For frequent content updates, follow us on twitter or Facebook