Heady Nuggs: The First 5 Warner Bros. Records 1992-2002

Release Date: April 16, 2011

Label: Warner Bros. Records

The Flaming Lips are Wayne Coyne, Michael Ivins, and Steven Drozd, and have included Ronald Jones, Jonathan Donahue, and Nathan Roberts

Produced by The Flaming Lips, Dave Fridmann, Keith Cleversley, and Scott Booker
Engineered by Dave Fridmann, Keith Cleversley, and Michael Ivins
Mixed by The Flaming Lips, Dave Fridmann, and Keith Cleversley
Mastered by Dave Fridmann, Keith Cleversley, and Steve Hall
Remastered by Bernie Grundman
Photos by J. Michelle Martin, Lawrence Schiller, Gwen Dobbs, Paula James Booker, and Jon Mooneyham
Art by Wayne Coyne
Design by George Salisbury, Fate, and Jon Mooneyham

Recorded at Tarbox Road Studios in Cassadaga, New York, Studio Seven in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the State University of New York in Fredonia, New York, and Sweetfish Studios in Argyle, New York

All songs written by The Flaming Lips and published by Lovely Sorts Of Death (BMI) except "Plastic Jesus" written by George Cromarty and Ed Rush and published by EMI, and "You Have To Be Joking (Autopsy Of The Devil's Brain)" by The Flaming Lips and Michael Kamen, and containing a sample of "Brazil," written by Michael Kamen and administered by MCA Music Publishing

This box set was released on Record Store Day 2011 and included the first 5 traditional LPs the Flaming Lips produced for Warner Bros. Records (Zaireeka, the Lips' 4th album for Warner Bros., has never been released on vinyl, and was excluded). Limited edition, individually-numbered run of 6,500, including 1,000 copies of colored vinyl released exclusively online through FlamingLips.com. All albums were remastered for this set, with the exception of The Soft Bulletin, which was represented by the 2009 vinyl remaster.

Track List

Disc One: Hit To Death In The Future Head
1. Talkin' Bout The Smiling Deathporn Immortality Blues (Everyone Wants To Live Forever)
2. Hit Me Like You Did The First Time
3. The Sun
4. Felt Good To Burn
5. Gingerale Afternoon (The Astrology Of A Saturday)
6. Halloween On The Barbary Coast
7. The Magician Vs. The Headache
8. You Have To Be Joking (Autopsy Of The Devil's Brain)
9. Frogs
10. Hold Your Head

Disc Two: Transmissions From The Satellite Heart
1. Turn It On
2. Pilot Can At The Queer Of God
3. Oh My Pregnant Head (Labia In The Sunlight)
4. She Don't Use Jelly
5. Chewin' The Apple Of Yer Eye
6. Superhumans
7. Be My Head
8. Moth In The Incubator
9. ******* (Plastic Jesus)
10. When Yer Twenty Two
11. Slow Nerve Action

Disc Three: Clouds Taste Metallic
1. The Abandoned Hospital Ship
2. Psychiatric Explorations Of The Fetus With Needles
3. Placebo Headwound
4. This Here Giraffe
5. Brainville
6. Guy Who Got A Headache And Accidentally Saves The World
7. When You Smile
8. Kim’s Watermelon Gun
9. They Punctured My Yolk
10. Lightning Strikes The Postman
11. Christmas At The Zoo
12. Evil Will Prevail
13. Bad Days (Aurally Excited Version)

Discs Four & Five: The Soft Bulletin
1. Race For The Prize (Sacrifice Of The New Scientists)
2. A Spoonful Weighs A Ton
3. The Spark That Bled (The Softest Bullet Ever Shot)
4. The Spiderbite Song
5. Buggin’ (The Buzz Of Love Is Busy Buggin' You)
6. What Is The Light? (An untested hypothesis suggesting that the chemical [in our brains] by which we are able to experience the sensation of being in love is the same chemical that caused the "Big Bang" that was the birth of the accelerating universe)
7. The Observer
8. Waitin’ For A Superman (Is It Gettin' Heavy??)
9. Suddenly Everything Has Changed (Moments of routine and boredom that cause you to daydream or reflect on the nature of reality sometimes with maddeningly melancholy results)
10. The Gash (Battle Hymn For The Wounded Mathematician)
11. Slow Motion
12. Feeling Yourself Disintegrate
13. Sleeping On The Roof (Excerpt From "Should We Keep The Severed Head Awake??")

Disc Six: Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots
1. Fight Test
2. One More Robot / Sympathy 3000-21
3. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 1
4. Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots Pt. 2
5. In The Morning Of The Magicians
6. Ego Tripping At The Gates Of Hell
7. Are You A Hypnotist??
8. It's Summertime (Throbbing Orange Pallbearers)
9. Do You Realize??
10. All We Have Is Now
11. Approaching Pavonis Mons By Balloon (Utopia Planitia)


Questions, Comments, Contributions
Contact Us

For frequent content updates, follow us on twitter or Facebook